[QUICK] How To Delete Google Search Results, 2022 Update

One of the most common questions we get here at Removaly after someone’s personal information has been removed from a data broker or people search sites are how to delete Google search results associated with that listing.

After all, once a people search site listing is removed, the Google search result should disappear immediately, correct? Sadly, such is not the case. In many cases, even after a listing has been opted out and fully removed, a Google search result remains as a ghost of a former vulnerability.

Example from predatory data broker Nuwber. Sorry, John.

Some of the most common offenders for this are Whitepages, Radaris, Clustrmaps, Nuwber, and Fast People Search, among many others. While there may be a “Page Not Found” result when a potential bad actor clicks through on the offending link, the information is still there in Google. So why does this happen? And what recourse do you have to do something about it?

Why Does This Happen?

As Google reindexes data brokers and people search websites, contact information begins to disappear. When Google recrawls an entire domain, it updates the search results with the new sitemap of the website.

In layman’s terms, the next time Google checks out the data broker’s directory and sees that your listing is gone, it will delete your listing from search results. Google loves to have the most up-to-date information.

But crawling the entire internet is time-consuming, and Google doesn’t have an unlimited number of crawlers at its disposal. For this reason, at times it can take weeks, and even months, for this information to completely disappear from Google search results.

This doesn’t always jive with people’s time-sensitive privacy needs. Those facing potentially dangerous situations such as harassment and doing, don’t have a few months to sit around and wait for Google to recrawl a people search site.

How To Delete Google Search Results

If you are looking to remove outdated information and dead links from Google’s cache without the waiting period, there is a trick. The Google Outdated Content Tool allows you to manually submit links for removal consideration straight to Google. It is the fastest method to nudge Google to delete Google search results.

delete google search results
Hit New Request and submit your URL.

The Google Outdated Content Tool can be found here: https://search.google.com/search-console/remove-outdated-content. Submit the link, and typically within a day or two, it should be removed. However, sometimes Google doesn’t approve removal requests on the first try. If this occurs, the link will “expire”. In this case, we recommend trying again.

How To Delete DuckDuckGo, Yahoo, and Bing Search Results

While Google has a massive search market share (almost 93% as of June 2021), it isn’t the only game in town. Luckily, the next three largest search engines use the same framework. Bing, Yahoo, and DuckDuckGo all utilize Bing’s search engine technology.

For this reason, the Bing Content Removal Tool works to remove dead and outdated links from all three search engines at the same time.

It’s not pretty, but it gets the job done.

The Bing Outdated Content Tool can be found here: https://www.bing.com/webmasters/help/bing-content-removal-tool-cb6c294d. Submit the link, and typically within a day or two, it should be removed. However, sometimes Bing also doesn’t approve removal requests on the first try. If this occurs, the link will “expire”. In this case, much like with Google, we recommend trying again.

Serch Engines Are Smart, But You Are Smarter

Knowing how to delete Google search results is a great secret weapon when navigating the world of personally identifiable information (PII) removal.

Starting with a service such as Removaly, which does all the heavy lifting from the opt out end, and then finishing with removing content straight from Google, is the one-two punch needed to truly get a stranglehold on your personal privacy.

Leave a Comment